Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in Lubbock

Exposing the Truth: The Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights

Get Your FREE Copy of the Book by Stephen Hamilton Exposing the Truth

Secrets of the Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights

Home > Lubbock Gun Lawyer > Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in Lubbock

In Lubbock, the penalties for illegally possessing a firearm can sometimes be severe. An individual might be charged with the unlawful possession of a firearm if it is not registered and if a person is intoxicated and gets pulled over, even if a person has it registered.

If you have been charged with the unlawful possession of a firearm in Lubbock, it is pertinent that you consult with an experienced gun lawyer as soon as possible. A knowledgeable attorney will be able to build a defense to help lessen or dismiss any penalties you may be facing.

Legally Possessing a Firearm

A person holding a valid registration can lawfully carry a firearm the range to-and-from the gun store. They can also have it under their seat when they travel. Further, they can hide it so that it is not apparent to a passerby, like at a shopping mall.

To lawfully possess a firearm, a person wants to register the gun, apply and get on the Department of Safety, and get a CDL.

Potential Penalties

The penalties for the unlawful possession of a firearm in Lubbock could be anywhere from a Class C ticket to a Class B all the way up to a felony, depending on the application that a person possessed. If a person had it in the commission of a crime, it could be a felony. If a person had it on their individual, it could be a Class B misdemeanor.

If a person is a felon and is found to be in possession of a firearm, the overall charge with be enhanced. Any charge could then be aggravated. In this case, a person will be faced with a third-degree felony, which carries a penalty of two to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Gun-Free Zones

Some examples of where a person will always be charged with the unlawful possession of a firearm in Lubbock include churches, higher educational institutions and colleges, courthouses, an airport, and places along those lines like a bar and local pub.

If a person is found guilty of unlawful possession of a firearm in a gun-free zone, the charge could be as high as a third-degree felony. For instance, if an individual was in a bar or pub, that is a third degree felony for being somewhere with a gun that serves alcoholic beverages.

Influence of Criminal History

If a person is charged with a felony, they have to wait before they are legally able to possess a firearm. This wait is usually about five years. A person with certain misdemeanors, Class B or up, will not be allowed to possess a permit either.

Once these individual’s rights are restored, or they were pardoned by the governor, they can apply for a permit. For a deferred conviction, as soon as that deferred is lived out and it is a deferred charge, it is not a conviction. So if they are convicted, there is a five-year wait after their sentence is taken care of. Anytime before this, these individuals will be found guilty of unlawful possession if they own or have a firearm in Lubbock

Federal Law requires a five-year mandatory minimum for possessing, brandishing, or discharging a gun in the course of a drug offense.