In the state of Texas, there are strict laws regarding possession and use of weapons. A violation of weapon laws will result in serious weapon charges, which could result in a revocation of your rights to own a firearm. While we think of weapons charges involving only firearms, it is important to recognize that there are many different weapons that are prohibited by Texas law. The following are weapons that are illegal to own except, in certain cases such as antiques:
- Machine guns
- Rifles with barrels less than 16 inches in length
- Shotguns with barrels less than 18 inches in length
- Explosives such as grenades and bombs
- Switchblade knives
- Brass knuckles
- Improvised handguns (zip guns)
If you are arrested and charged with possession of any of these weapons, then you could face serious penalties. In Texas, you also can be charged with a weapons offense for unlawful discharge of a weapon and unlawful carrying of a weapon. Possession of a switchblade or brass knuckles is a Class A misdemeanor, which can carry up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. Possession of any other illegal weapon is a third-degree felony, the penalties for which can include 2 to 10 years in prison and fines up to $10,000. It is vital to your future that you retain skilled legal assistance to help fight the charges against you.
Charged with a weapons offense?
Our Texas criminal lawyers have the experience and the skill in criminal defense that you need on your side, and when you choose to work with our firm, you can be sure that we will work to ensure that your rights are upheld and defended throughout the duration of your case. We have seen the effects of a criminal conviction of weapons charges, and it is essential that you are not wrongfully convicted of this crime. Contact our firm today to discuss the charges you face and to pursue the results that you need.