Most DWI charges in Texas are misdemeanors. However, a few specific offenses are charged as felonies and this means that the defendant will face harsh penalties if convicted. Depending upon the specific DWI offense, a person may face up to 10 or even 20 years in a state penitentiary for a felony DWI conviction.
Even if you are facing highly complex and serious felony charges, a Texas DWI attorney can help. Our lawyers represent clients throughout Collin County and Dallas County, Texas, and offers a free consultation to discuss your particular case.
Texas Felony DWI Offenses
Following are the types of felony DWI offenses in Texas:
- DWI 3rd: third degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in state prison, fines of up to $10,000 and 2-year license revocation.
- Intoxication Assault: third degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in state prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 600 hours of community service.
- Intoxication Manslaughter: second degree felony, punishable by up to 20 years in state prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 800 hours of community service.
- DWI with a Child in the Car: state jail felony, punishable by a minimum of 180 days up to a maximum of 2 years in a state jail facility, and a fine up to $10,000.
DWI Defense Lawyer Serving Texas
You can trust your felony DWI case in the hands of our dedicated Texas DWI lawyer. With her aggressive representation, you may avoid long-term imprisonment and the heavy fines that are associated with a felony conviction. Contact our firm for a free initial meeting to discuss your case!