In Texas, causing an auto accident when driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense. If convicted, you may face up to 10 years in prison, or even 20 years in state prison if the accident resulted in serious injury or death to another passenger or driver. In addition, you may face additional penalties such as fines up to $10,000, and license suspension up to a year.
In the face of DWI accident charges, the lawyer you choose will make all the difference. Hiring a skilled Texas DWI lawyer could mean the difference between a standard plea agreement and a powerful and complete defense. At Hamilton Grant PC we offer a comprehensive criminal defense for DWI accident charges throughout Collin County and Dallas County. Every case has facts that allow us to develop a defense, no matter how daunting things seemed when you were charged. Mounting a strong defense for your DWI accident charges, whatever the circumstances may be, is what we do.
DWI Accident Penalties
The majority of serious DWI accident offenses will be charged as felonies. If you are charged with Intoxication Assault, you will face prison time of up to 2 to 10 years in prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 600 hours of community service. Intoxication Manslaughter is a second degree felony, punishable by 2 to 20 years in state prison, fines of up to $10,000 and up to 800 hours of community service.
Thankfully, there is good news. Hamilton Grant PC has a skilled team of determined criminal defense attorneys who have extensive experience representing people just like you who are facing DWI and DWI accident charges. You will be hard pressed to find a Texas lawyer who knows DWI charges better. Contact our team today.