If you are looking for a seasoned and reputable lawyer to defend your Texas marijuana sales charges, you have come to the right law firm. At Hamilton Grant PC, our attorney Grant’s knowledge and experience with marijuana cases is unparalleled.
Cultivation and Sales of Marijuana
Under Section 481.120 of the Texas Controlled Substances Act, it is illegal to knowingly or intentionally sell or deliver marijuana. An offense under this subsection is:
- Gift of 1/4 of an ounce or less – Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, or both.
- Selling 1/4 of an ounce or less – Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $4,000, up to one year in jail, or both.
- Selling 5 pounds or less, but over 1/4 of an ounce – State Jail Felony, punishable by a fine up to $10,000, between 180 and 2 years in prison, or both.
- Over 5 pounds, but not more than 50 pounds – Felony of the Second Degree, penalties include up to a $10,000 fine, between 2 and 20 years in prison, or both.
- If 2,000 pounds or less, but not over 50 pounds – First Degree Felony, punishable by 10 to 99 years in prison, and a maximum $100,000 fine if the amount delivered was over 2,000 pounds.
Contact a Collin County marijuana lawyer today!
The penalties associated with marijuana sales are prosecuted harshly in Texas. Unfortunately, marijuana is a widely used recreational drug that is often used by normally law abiding citizens who have a lot to lose upon conviction. At Hamilton Grant PC, we understand the full ramifications of a marijuana conviction and how it can impact all aspects of your personal and professional life. We stand ready to fight your charges and seek a reduction if not a dismissal in your charges.
If you are facing charges for any marijuana-related offense, we urge you to contact our Collin County marijuana attorney immediately to discuss how we would defend your case.