Ecstasy, or MDMA, is a Penalty Group 2 controlled substance. The minimum charge you can face involving ecstasy is already a felony. This means that for any amount of ecstasy that you are convicted with possessing, manufacturing, or delivering, you face jail time, hefty fines, and then life after as a convicted felon. Every background check from then on would include this conviction.
A felony can keep you from finding a good job, finding a good place to live, or even obtaining a loan. These are life-altering consequences. You never want an undeserved drug charge to come to that. At Hamilton Grant PC, you will find drug crime lawyers who are committed to getting our clients a fair trial. We will do whatever it takes to ensure a just result.
Penalties for Ecstasy Possession
If you face this charge, then this means you are being charged with knowingly possessing MDMA. The penalties vary according to the amount that you are said to have possession of:
- Less than 1 gram is a state jail felony. Possession of less than 0.04 ounces of ecstasy can land you in jail for 180 days up to 2 years. A judge may also fine you up to $10,000.
- 1 gram or more but less than 4 grams is a third degree felony offense. This entails at least 2 years in prison, and you could get up to a 10-year prison sentence. There can also be up to $10,000 in fines.
- 4 grams but less than 400 grams is a second degree felony, and 400 grams is only 14.1 ounces, less than 1 pound. This means 2 to 20 years in prison, plus up to $10,000 in fines.
- 400 grams or more is a first degree felony. This can lead to as much as a life sentence. If not, then you face at least 5 years in prison, and up to 99 years. You may also be fined up to $50,000.
Manufacture or Delivery of Ecstasy: Potential Penalties
These charges are more serious than even possession charges, and even possession with intent to deliver will land you with the same penalties as drug delivery. Again, penalties are based on how much you are charged with intentionally manufacturing or trafficking:
- Less than 1 gram of this Penalty Group 2 substance is a state jail felony. This will land you in state jail for a minimum of 180 days, and for up to 2 years. You also face up to $10,000 in fines.
- 1 gram or more but less than 4 grams is second degree felony. Four grams is only 0.14 ounces. Manufacturing this fractional amount of ecstasy can mean 2 to 20 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.
- 4 grams or more but less than 400 grams is first degree felony. For the delivery of less than one pound of ecstasy, you could get a life sentence, or you may get 5 to 99 years in prison. The maximum fine is still $10,000.
- 400 grams or more is a first degree felony with increased penalties. This means at the very least 10 years in prison, and up to $100,000 in fines.
Find the Aggressive Defense You Need from a Texas Drug Crime Lawyer
With these intense charges, you need a legal advocate who is up to the task. At our Texas criminal defense firm, we are dedicated to providing outstanding defense. We have the determination and skill to get charges reduced or dismissed, and we have done so time and again. We may be able to help you move on from these charges as a free person. When you need powerhouse defense, you can look to Hamilton Grant PC.