Domestic violence offenses are aggressively prosecuted in Texas in an effort to protect victims and their children from harm. In order for a violent act to be viewed as domestic violence, it must involve spouses, ex-spouses, those related by blood, those who have a child in common, household members, or dating partners. If charged with a domestic violence crime in Texas, you face the possibility of serious penalties. Even a first offense will often result in jail time and other court-ordered actions which can adversely impact your life. In such a situation, you need a proven trial lawyer in your local area who has the requisite experience and skills to fully defend you.
Why clients choose our firm:
- Proven track record of success
- Award-winning representation
- 10.0 Superb rating on Avvo
- Nationally-recognized legal counsel
If you’re facing a domestic battery charge in or around Collin County, Hamilton Grant PC provides outstanding legal representation.
Domestic Battery Charges in Texas
Under Texas law, domestic battery consists of an assault which intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily harm to the victim. Aggravated assault occurs when serious bodily harm is caused intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly or when the alleged offender uses or threatens to use a deadly weapon while in commission of the crime. In the case of simple domestic assault, it is charged as a Class A misdemeanor on a first offense. Second and subsequent offenses are charged as third degree felonies, while aggravated domestic assault is charged as a second degree felony or first degree felony, if a deadly weapon is used and serious bodily injury is caused to the victim.
Domestic battery penalties include:
- If charged as a misdemeanor: Up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $4,000
- If charged as a third degree felony: Up to 10 years in prison and fines of $10,000
Aggravated domestic assault penalties can include:
- If charged as a second degree felony: Up to 20 years in prison and fines up to $10,000
- If charged as a first degree felony: Up to 99 years in prison and fines up to $10,000
Contact a Texas Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Today
Any domestic violence accusation demands an aggressive and thorough legal response. Our firm has proven results in defending these types of cases in Texas. There are very few things more frightening than being arrested for a crime, and we understand how isolating the criminal justice system can be – should you choose to hire our legal services, you can trust that you won’t go through the process alone.