If you or a loved one has been arrested for aggravated assault or assault with a deadly weapon you need to get criminal defense counsel from a Texas assault lawyer at once. Assault with a deadly weapon is a very serious felony offense and involves much harsher penalties than simple assault charges. Having an experienced attorney fighting for you will significantly increase your chances of being able to avoid conviction or get your case dismissed. If you are looking for an attorney with the knowledge and skills to provide you with a powerful strategy to defend against felony aggravated assault charges, you have come to the right place. Call Hamilton Grant PC now.
Penalties for Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Any individual who intentionally or knowingly assaults another individual with a deadly weapon, or while displaying a deadly weapon, is committing the crime of aggravated assault. In this context a deadly weapon is not just a firearm, any object that has the capability of causing serious bodily harm to another can be considered as a deadly weapon. An individual’s own body, a motor vehicle, a candlestick, a baseball bat, a tree branch and other such objects are all examples of deadly weapons that have been used in different aggravated assault cases. Assault with a deadly weapon is a 2nd degree felony offense according to our state’s penal code, however charges can be raised to a 1st degree felony if certain conditions are present.
An aggravated assault which causes bodily harm to a family member is committed by or against an on-duty public servant, or is committed against an on-duty security officer will be charged as a 1st degree felony. A drive-by shooting causing serious bodily injury to another, or an aggravated assault against a witness, informant, whistleblower or individual who reported a crime can also be raised to a 1st degree felony offense.
Penalties for assault with a deadly weapon or aggravated assault as a 2nd degree felony include between 2 -20 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine upon conviction. A 1st degree felony conviction will mean between 5-99 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. In these types of cases the judge may also order that restitution be paid to the victim to help cover expenses for medical care, counseling, treatments, property damage and more. If you have been arrested for assault with a deadly weapon, you must act quickly to hire an experienced Texas aggravated assault attorney from our firm. We are dedicated to defending our clients’ rights. We are also committed to providing you with a powerful criminal defense strategy to help you protect your freedom. Call our firm today to find out more about how we can help you.