In Texas, the crime of assault can involve a number of violent actions whether actual physical harm is inflicted or merely threatened or implied. The penalties for a conviction of this crime can include either misdemeanor charges or felony charges depending on the circumstances under which the crime is committed. Additionally, the crime of simple assault is a misdemeanor, which means that a police officer must witness the crime in order to make an immediate arrest, with the exception of domestic violence cases. You could be charged with the crime of assault for any of the following actions:
- Intentionally, knowingly, and / or recklessly causing bodily injury to another individual
- Threatening to cause severe bodily injury to another
- Causing physical contact with another that they consider offensive or provocative
If the other individual has reasonable fear of imminent bodily injury, then you could be arrested and charged with the crime of assault. Simple assault can be charged either as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries up to 1 year in jail and $4,000 in fines, or a third-degree felony in some cases, which carries up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. If you are facing violent crime charges of assault, then it is essential that you retain skilled representation immediately.
Violent Crime Charges in Texas
You also need to know that your charges could be increased to aggravated assault when serious bodily injury is inflicted or if you used a weapon during commission of the crime. The penalties for an aggravated assault offense are much more severe than for simple assault.