Theft offenses are taken very seriously in Lubbock, Texas. Possible consequences of a theft charge in Lubbock can be anything from having that conviction, whether it is a misdemeanor or a felony, on their record, to county time or prison time. In Texas, a person could spend life in prison for a theft conviction. Someone may also face social consequences with their loved ones and their community, as well as employment restrictions. It is important to fight these charges as early as possible.
If you are facing theft penalties in Lubbock, it is important to work with a skilled Lubbock theft attorney as early as you can to begin building your defense. A skilled attorney can help to achieve a positive outcome in your case.
If an individual has a prior conviction in Lubbock, the prosecution is going to look at their case in other jurisdictions. It is under the platform idea that it was a first-time offense and people must learn from it. The theft statute changed September 1st of 2015. For the current statute for cases, when a theft has occurred since September 1st, 2015, the range for punishment basically carries tickets for theft, up to $100, which is a Class C offense. A Class C means that while an individual could get up to a $500 fine, they cannot do any jail time.
If a person has a conviction for theft for $100 to $750, it becomes a Class B misdemeanor. If the person is convicted, the Class B misdemeanor range of punishment is up to 180 days in the county jail and up to a $2,000 fine. From $750 to $2,500, it is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a range of punishment of up to one year or 365 days in the county jail and up to a $4,000 fine. That is the range on the misdemeanor. The more the value of a theft, the higher the range goes in theft penalties in Lubbock. The value goes from $2,500 to $30,000, $2,500 to $30,000, with a jail felony from 180 days to two years in the state jail and up to $10,000 fine. If a person gets $30,000 or more, it becomes a third-degree felony.
If a person gets convicted of a second and third degree, the range of punishment is not less than two years or more 10 years in the Department of Corrections facility and up to an optional fine of $10,000. A second-degree in hand to that punishment is from two years to 20 years in prison and a first-degree can be a minimum of five years to life in prison.
There are other options for some offenders, depending on their case that they could serve alternative sentencing in Lubbock, Texas. There could be a conviction on the record, but they would have conviction with some sort of probation. It could be deferred in these cases, which means as long as the person lives that probation, there is no conviction on their record. They may have to do a motion for non-disclosure. After that, they work out dates for terms for dismissal, plus the person can come back to expunge it. Maybe some sort of pre-trial diversion task program would allow a case to be dismissed with no conviction and even removed from the record.