Solicitation is an included element of the criminal offense of prostitution under Texas law. Like prostitution, the consequences can be harsh, especially when minors are involved. When you are facing solicitation or related charges, you may want to consider taking advantage of the services offered by a Collin County solicitation lawyer.
Working with a practiced defense lawyer may enable you to get an objective evaluation of your case and the options available to you in this situation. By focusing on the most robust defense strategy possible in your case, you may place yourself in a better position to fight the charges.
Solicitation as a Misdemeanor
While many traditionally see prostitution as offering another person sexual acts in exchange for money or something else of value, Tex. Pen. Code § 43.02 incorporates solicitation in its definition of prostitution. When someone offers to pay or give something valuable in exchange for sex with another, they commit a prostitution offense. As is the case with prostitution, solicitation does not require that any sexual contact occurs between the parties.
A first-time solicitation charge is typically a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum possible penalty of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. If an individual has one or two prior prostitution or solicitation convictions, then they can face Class A misdemeanor charges, which can result in up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. As jail time is possible if convicted of these offenses, anyone facing these allegations may wish to speak to a solicitation lawyer in Collin County before their cases proceed any further.
Collin County Felony Offenses
In some circumstances, solicitation of prostitution can become a felony offense. For example, if someone solicits another who is, believed to be, or represented to be under the age of 19, the offense automatically becomes a felony of the second degree. Regardless as to whether the individual knew that the other person was a minor, they can face a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Likewise, under Tex. Pen. Code § 43.03, it is unlawful for individuals to intentionally solicit others to engage in a prostitution scheme from which they will profit. Promotion of prostitution is a state jail felony, but the charge can increase to a second-degree felony if the solicited individual is under the age of 18. A solicitation attorney in Collin County may be able to explain any charges in detail and analyze the existing evidence.
Aggravated promotion of prostitution charges can carry the potential for even harsher penalties than those for the promotion of prostitution. According to Tex. Pen. Code § 43.04, individuals who operate or invest in a prostitution enterprise involving two or more prostitutes commit aggravated promotion of prostitution.
This offense is a second-degree felony under Texas law but becomes a first-degree felony offense if it involves more than one individual who is under the age of 18. A conviction for a first-degree felony offense can result in a life sentence, or a prison sentence ranging from five to 99 years.
Seek Advice from a Collin County Solicitation Attorney
Solicitation charges may initially seem impossible, but there are defenses available. Taking the first step to get legal advice when facing solicitation charges may be crucial to getting through any criminal proceedings with a minimal impact on your life. A Collin County solicitation lawyer may be able to accompany and guide you through every step of your case.
Many defenses may apply in criminal cases, and solicitation cases also open up the possibility for various defense strategies. By enlisting the assistance of legal counsel, you may place yourself in the best position possible to defeat the charges that you are facing. Call today to get started on your case.